Why Is It Important To Get Legal?

There is a huge difference in the laws of California and Arizona when it comes to the legal process so I thought I would point out 2 scenarios as explained by state law and the repercussions of both. Assumptions are as follows;

1. Person is possessing 1 ounce of marijuana.

2. Person is not a qualified patient under state law.

3. Person is detained by law enforcement.

Without being a patient, this person committed a crime and would subject to the following penalties by state.

California

If this would happen within the state confines of California, the law enforcement office would write you a ticket and give you a fine for $100 and your medication would be taken away. You would not be detained any further than this and this crime would not go on your record. Simply put, marijuana possession for non-patients does less harm than a speeding ticket.

Arizona

If this would happen within the state confines of Arizona, the law enforcement officer would be required to arrest you. They have the option to either charge you with a felony or a misdemeanor. The incarceration time will be within 6-18 months. The fine will be within the range of $750-$150,000. So if you didn’t get a lenient judge you could be facing huge fines and a long jail sentence.

This is an obvious and excellent reason to get legal. Having an Arizona medical card will save you jail time and money. For a harmless plant, this is an insane amount of  penalties.

This is why we say get legal and we mean it. Your rights as a patient are enormous. Those California residents are not in the same boat, 18 months of jail time vs. $100 is quite the difference. We hope that we will have the same decriminalization someday as California, but this may never happen.

Furthermore, If you choose to cultivate your medicine outside the state laws. You would be charged with a misdemeanor of a felony, your jail time would be 9-24 months and your fine could be withing the same amount of $750-$150,000. This is why we feel it is important to get your growers endorsement when you get your state card.

Also, possession of paraphernalia such as pipes would be a 6-18 months jail sentence and anywhere up to $150,000 fine.

If you will be providing patients with this medication, it is imperative that you apply for a caregivers license. Should you receive any money for providing someone with their medication you would face 18-36 months in jail and the same fines. Sale or deliver for sale is contains the same fine but the incarceration time for this is 30-84 months. The caregiver portion of the law will save some serious jail time.

Medical Marijuana Doctors Office=MMJDO

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: